Workaround for gpsh on MacOS?

This forum is dedicated to discuss all problems and suggestions related to the use of geopsy database and its plugins (array processing, H/V,...).
Post Reply
iandkelly
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2022 2:29 am

Workaround for gpsh on MacOS?

Post by iandkelly »

Hi Marc,

I was wondering if there's been any workaround or easy solution to use the gpsh command-line tool on MacOS. Currently gpsh spits out:

Code: Select all

Currently the code for Sh computation is written in Fortran.
Apple XCode has never included a Fortran compiler in its tool chain.
Support for Fortran codes is thus discontinued on MacOSX.
This code is still available for Linux and Windows users.
Cheers,

Ian
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 809
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:48 am
Location: ISTerre
Contact:

Re: Workaround for gpsh on MacOS?

Post by admin »

Hi Ian,

I recently noticed that this notice is no longer useful. The Sh Fortran codes were translated to C++ some years ago. Which release are you using? For sure, in 3.5.0-preview this is fixed. In 3.4.2, I'm not sure. 3.5.0-preview is available through our git repository, then you have to compile the code (tutorial on wiki).
Best regards,

Marc
iandkelly
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2022 2:29 am

Re: Workaround for gpsh on MacOS?

Post by iandkelly »

Hi Marc,

I was using the stable 3.4 version. Currently in the process of installing 3.5 from git, but running into some silly issues that I'm sure are trivial. When trying to configure and build from the cloned git submodule:

Code: Select all

./configure -builddir /path/where/you/want/to/build -prefix /path/where/you/want/to/intall -march native
I'm coming across this for some reason:

Code: Select all

Configure mseed
bash: configure: No such file or directory
Error while configuring geopsypack. Check above messages.
If you want to contact support, send a copy of the whole output.
Is it because of where I need to set the build and install dirs? Does the build dir have to colocated with Qt and FFTW? Apologies for all the trivial questions!

Cheers,

Ian
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 809
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:48 am
Location: ISTerre
Contact:

Re: Workaround for gpsh on MacOS?

Post by admin »

Did you follow the tutorial dedicated to MacOS? Or the general one?
https://www.geopsy.org/wiki/index.php/I ... sy_package

Make sure you run

Code: Select all

git checkout 3.5
to get 3.5.0-preview.
Post Reply