Qt version conflict

Post in this forum any question related to the installation on any of the supported platforms (Linux, Mac OS X, Windows)
Post Reply
ivandiaz
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 11:11 am

Qt version conflict

Post by ivandiaz »

Dear all,
Naif? Maybe...
I am trying to install in linux ubuntu 20.0.4. the geopsypack-scr-3.4.2. After some mistakes I reach the step "configuring"
(base) ivan@ivan-ThinkPad-P51:~/GEOPSY/geopsypack-src-3.4.2$ ./configure -prefix /home/ivan/GEOPSY/geopsypack-scr-3.4.2
*** ERROR *** : your Qt version is 5.9.7.
At least version 5.14.2 is recommended.
If you want to skip this version check,
add option -skip-qt-check.
Error while configuring geopsypack. Check above messages.
If you want to contact support, send a copy of the whole output.
Here after the copy of line added in the file /home/ .bashrc, please read the last line
export PATH=/home/ivan/miniconda3/bin:/home/ivan/miniconda3/condabin:/home/ivan/.local/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/games:/usr/local/games:/snap/bin:/home/ivan/SEISCOPE/cwp_44R18/bin
export PATH=home/ivan/GEOPSY/QT/5.15.2/gcc_64/bin:$PATH
I do not know how to make to recognise the new path!!! the version Qt 5.9.7 is what is included in miniconda in these time.
Please, some idea can be very useful...
Many thanks in advance,
Amicalement,
Ivan Diaz

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 661
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:48 am
Location: ISTerre
Contact:

Re: Qt version conflict

Post by admin »

Hi Ivan
export PATH=home/ivan/GEOPSY/QT/5.15.2/gcc_64/bin:$PATH
You probably forgot the first "/" before "home"
If you run

Code: Select all

ls /home/ivan/GEOPSY/QT/5.15.2/gcc_64/bin
Do you get something without error?

Best regards,

Marc

ivandiaz
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 11:11 am

Re: Qt version conflict

Post by ivandiaz »

Dear Marc,

Many thanks for your help. It is really useful!!
You are right. It was enough to make a suggested change.
Nevertheless I would just ask if my configuration will be a success... as I have TWO directories with the same name (geopsypack-scr-3.4.2), after to make:
1)./configure -prefix /home/ivan/GEOPSY/geopsypack-scr-3.4.2
2)make -j 8
3)make install
The tree steps were done in "(base) ivan@ivan-ThinkPad-P51:~/GEOPSY/geopsypack-src-3.4.2$ "
At the moment I have to directories with really different subdirectories and I am asking if this situations can provoke some kind of conflicts.
And it will be my last question...
Thanks in advance for your help,
Ivan

ivandiaz
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 11:11 am

Re: Qt version conflict

Post by ivandiaz »

Hi Marc,
here after what I have after your suggestion,

(base) ivan@ivan-ThinkPad-P51:~/GEOPSY/geopsypack-src-3.4.2$ ls /home/ivan/GEOPSY/QT/5.15.2/gcc_64/bin
assistant lprodump pixeltool qdoc qmleasing.debug qmlprofiler.debug qtpaths sdpscanner
assistant.debug lprodump.debug pixeltool.debug qdoc.debug qmlformat qmlscene qtpaths.debug sdpscanner.debug
balsam lrelease qcollectiongenerator qgltf qmlformat.debug qmlscene.debug qtplugininfo syncqt.pl
balsam.debug lrelease.debug qcollectiongenerator.debug qgltf.debug qmlimportscanner qmltestrunner qtplugininfo.debug tracegen
canbusutil lrelease-pro qdbus qhelpgenerator qmlimportscanner.debug qmltestrunner.debug qtwaylandscanner tracegen.debug
canbusutil.debug lrelease-pro.debug qdbuscpp2xml qhelpgenerator.debug qmllint qmltyperegistrar qtwaylandscanner.debug uic
designer lupdate qdbuscpp2xml.debug qlalr qmllint.debug qmltyperegistrar.debug qvkgen uic.debug
designer.debug lupdate.debug qdbus.debug qlalr.debug qmlmin qscxmlc qvkgen.debug xmlpatterns
fixqt4headers.pl lupdate-pro qdbusviewer qmake qmlmin.debug qscxmlc.debug qwebengine_convert_dict xmlpatterns.debug
lconvert lupdate-pro.debug qdbusviewer.debug qml qmlplugindump qtattributionsscanner qwebengine_convert_dict.debug xmlpatternsvalidator
lconvert.debug meshdebug qdbusxml2cpp qmlcachegen qmlplugindump.debug qtattributionsscanner.debug rcc xmlpatternsvalidator.debug
licheck64 meshdebug.debug qdbusxml2cpp.debug qmlcachegen.debug qmlpreview qt.conf rcc.debug
linguist moc qdistancefieldgenerator qml.debug qmlpreview.debug qtdiag repc
linguist.debug moc.debug qdistancefieldgenerator.debug qmleasing qmlprofiler qtdiag.debug repc.debug

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 661
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:48 am
Location: ISTerre
Contact:

Re: Qt version conflict

Post by admin »

The "ls" was just to test if your path was correct. Apparently it is so.

The -prefix option is define the destination directory when you run "make install". To make things properly, it should be something different than the source directory. To things even better, you should separate the source and the build directory. In this way the source directory is left untouched. Several configuration can be maintained in parallel sharing the same source directory.

To avoid potential conflicts, I recommend that you
  • remove /home/ivan/GEOPSY/geopsypack-scr-3.4.2
  • unpack the downloaded archive
  • run configure -prefix /home/ivan/GEOPSY/install -builddir /home/ivan/GEOPSY/build -march native
  • make -j 8
  • make install
You should get everything ready in /home/ivan/GEOPSY/install

ivandiaz
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 11:11 am

Re: Qt version conflict

Post by ivandiaz »

Hi Marc,

Once again, THANKS.

Actually I start to use geopsy.

Best regards,

Ivan Diaz

Post Reply